Skip Over Navigation Links



NASI UK Chapter


National Academy of Sciences (NASI -UK Chapter)

Uttarakhand is the youngest member among the metro chapters. Uttarakhand Chapter came into being in the last quarter of 2006 with an aim to co-ordinate the activities of NASI, Allahabad in the newly formed state of Uttarakhand.

The Uttarakhand Chapter of NASI, with its founder Chairman, Prof A.N. Purohit was formally inaugurated on October 12, 2006 at Uttaranchal Institute of Technology, Premnagar, Dehradun by Prof M.G.K. Menon, India's most renowned scientist. Other dignitaries who graced the occasion were Prof. P.N. Tandon, Former Director, AIIMS, Dr. V.P. Sharma, Dr. (Mrs.) Manju Sharma, a large number of scientists and academicians in the state. In recent years the chapter has observed change in office bearers with Dr. B.R. Arora, Ex-Director Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology succeeding Prof. A.N. Purohit, Former Vice Chancellor, HNB Garhwal University as new Chairman of the chapter and Dr. Rajendra Dobhal, Director General Uttarakhand State Council for Science & Technology,Dehradun took over the charge of Secretary, UK chapter from Dr. G.S. Rawat, Scientist-G, Wildlife Institute of India,Dehradun on 09 Aug 2011. Meanwhile, Prof. A.N. Purohit is continuing to guide the chapter by being the Advisor of the chapter. Since then the chapter has organized many Science popularization activities. The UK Chapter, in close collaboration with the UCOST aims at achieving the National Academy's mandate and hopes to achieve the following objectives:

  • Promote science education in Uttarakhand
  • Provide a forum for the fellows and members of the NASI for fruitful interactions in the field of Science & Technology
  • Act as a link between the leading /renowned national/international scientists and the science teachers and students in the state of Uttarakhand.

NASI UK Chapter


Prof. A.N. Purohit
Former Vice-Chancellor, H.N.B. Garhwal University; Res. Almi Anchal, 181/1 Dobhalwala, Dehra Dun - 248001


Dr. Rajendra Dobhal
Director General, Uttarakhand Uttarakhand State Council for Science & Technology, Department of Science and Technology (Govt. of Uttarakhand), Vigyan Dham, Jhajra, Dehradun - 248 007 (Uttarakhand)


Prof. Y.P.S. Pangtey : Botany Department, DSB Campus, Kumaun University, Nainital - 263002
Prof. R.D. Gaur : Professor Emeritus, HN 653, Hanumantpuram, Lane 6, Ganga Nagar, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand - 249201
Dr. Surendra Pratap Singh : Chair of Excellence, Forest Research Institute, Deemed University, New Forest Post Office, FRI Campus, Dehradun - 248006
Dr. Anil Kumar Gupta : JC Bose National Fellow & Director, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, 33, General Mahadeo Singh Road, Dehra Dun 248001


Dr. D.P. Uniyal
Senior Scientific Officer, Uttarakhand State Council for Science & Technology, Department of Science and Technology (Govt. of Uttarakhand), Vigyan Dham, Jhajra, Dehradun - 248 007 (Uttarakhand)

Programme Schedule of 86th Annual Session of NASI at UCOST


Workshop Progress Report


NASI Annual Report 2015-16


NASI Annual Report 2014-15


Activity Profile 2006-12


Life Member in Uttarakhand of NASI

If you find any broken link please inform us !

Social Media Links